Matthew Mayfield

Birmingham native, Matthew Mayfield, started his musical journey in 1992 when he fell in love with Guns N’ Roses. It was at 9 years old that he decided that he was going to be in a rock ‘n’ roll band.

Matthew Mayfield has a series of critically acclaimed releases to his credit, including his latest, Irons In The Fire (2013). Produced by Paul Moak (Mat Kearney, The Weeks), it was hailed by as “a fantastic showcase of Mayfield’s talents and a great step forward.” In addition to four new songs, the EP contains remastered versions of “Fire Escape” and “Tonight,” which Mayfield penned with The Civil Wars’ John Paul White for 2011’s Now You’re Free.

His previous band, Moses Mayfield, signed with Epic Records in 2005. After they disbanded in 2007, Mayfield launched a solo career without the support of label. Since then he’s self-released seven EPs and three full-length albums, offering fans a consistent stream of new music. His debut solo effort, The Fire EP (2008), included “First In Line,” appearing on the 100th episode of ABC’s “Grey’s Anatomy.” The next project, Five Chances Remain Hers (2009), produced by Paul Moak, landed another track, “Better,” on Grey’s Anatomy. That single shot to No. 1 on the iTunes Singer/Songwriter Chart.

In 2010, with the help of fans and Pledge Music, Mayfield set off to record his first full length solo album, again working with producer Paul Moak. Of that experience, he says, “I headed to Nashville to make Now You’re Free [2011], a record I had always wanted to make full of anthemic rock songs with heart.” After an extensive tour in support of that album, Mayfield headed back to the studio for something a bit more stripped down. “I wanted to make a record full of the residuals—full of what’s left on the canvas after you strip it all off.” There, A Banquet for Ghosts (2012) was created.

Mayfield has toured with such artists as Needtobreathe, Pete Yorn, Switchfoot and Blue October and licensed songs to numerous television shows, including “Grey’s Anatomy,” “Nashville,” “Hart of Dixie” and “Ringer,” to name a few.

Mayfield’s next project is due out in early 2015.

Contact Information





Booking Information: Cate Decker:

Discography: Wild Eyes (2015), The Blue Cut Robbery (2010) , Now You're Free (2011)

Label: Sweet Exchange Records